Haversine Forums -> AirTrack - General Issues and Support

NDB question

Posted on December 31, 2012 13:18 by henrimarch

I am getting other frequencies for some NDB's.
I have x-plane airac 1208 downloaded in Airac and this is the same as in the x-plane version which I have running
But for example a lookup RNT - RENTON NDB the frequency is 350 Khz in Airtrack.
This frequency set in X-plane is not responding and when I go to the local map and click on this NDB in x-plane the properties shows its frequency is 353 Khz and with this setting X-plane is responding.
Also in FSX the frequency setting of this NDB is 353 Khz.
This confuses me somewhat (this is not the only NDB which frequency isn't the same) as I find it a pity that I can't rely on Airtrack information or do I something wrong (I am a newbie in the flight simulator world but I really love it).

Kind regards,

Piet

Posted on December 31, 2012 15:25 by haversine

Hi

It is strange indeed; it seems like a bug; the frequency in the database for NDB is indeed 353 so I don't understand why it is showing up 350. I will look it up and find out what is causing it and fix it.

Really don't know why, this is the first time it was noticed.

Sorry for it and thanks for spotting it,
Will let you know when it is fixed,
joao @ airtrack

Posted on January 2, 2013 22:39 by haversine

Hi again,

OK after investigating we've found the cause of this problem and it has now been fixed. There were actually two parts of the problem, with two distinct fixes:

1. Some NDB frequencies were incorrectly encoded in the navigation data sets; these included the RNT NDB you mentioned.

In order to get the FIX go to the Navigation Data page, delete any datasets you have locally stored in AirTrack and download them again. The new downloaded data will have the right frequencies.