Haversine Forums -> AirTrack - General Issues and Support

Problem with ILS / ADF needles

Posted on December 30, 2011 10:03 by Tito

Hi to all.
I'm a newbie of XP9 and 10. I've an IPad with AirTrack and iv've noted this problem: the ILS needle and the ADF needle aren't shown on IPad but are shown correctly on XP (9 and 10). The problem regards many many airports/navaids both in XP9 and 10. I've noted that the VORs and the ADFs seems have a short range to follow correctly (the needles are shown correctly in range < 40 NM and it's too difficult to follow with the AP) .But the important thing for me is the ILS...i've taken an IPad for this beautiful program and i'd like to see it function properly....there's anyone with the same problems or with a possible solutions?
Many thanks in advance and many many thanks to Joao for the help with my account.

Tito

My system is: IMac i5 Snow Leopard 4GB ATI 6770 1TB HDD

Posted on December 30, 2011 11:10 by haversine

Hi Tito,

The first thing to have in mind is that AirTrack comes with Navigraph's 1006 AIRAC as the default navigation data. This is different from X-Plane's navigation data so things may differ. If you want to see the VORS, NDBs and localizers exactly as you see them on X-Plane, you need to install XP's data:

Under Settings -> Navigation Data -> Select and Download an X-Plane AIRAC

The next thing concerns ranges and sensitivities; AirTrack performs its own internal calculations in order to position its needles and bugs, so it does not take a 1:1 match of what X-Plane shows. It may be that AirTrack doesn't capture an ILS when XP does, and this may be just because the criteria to simulate if the localizer signal is in range or not is different. AirTrack can be very picky about these things perhaps, mainly because it tries to ressemble the real systems as much as possible.

So here are a few things to consider:

On display:
###########