Haversine Forums -> AirTrack - FS9 / FSX Plugin

Problems getting FSX to connect

Posted on October 14, 2013 21:41 by aslsw

I've just downloaded and installed Airtrack on my iPad. I also downloaded the FSK plugin and ran it, getting the warning messages in FSX about the new gauge. I also got a warning from the Firewall and selected to allow the program to communicate through the firewall.

I do get the white box in the top left hand corner of my cockpit (ie. 2D) screen but for some reason the plugin won't connect to the iPad and send data to it.

I'm running Windows 8 on my laptop. I admit I'm no expert but I have created a firewall rule to allow UDP2442 through in both directions (I think).

What else can I try? Any suggestions? I'm happy to tinker around a bit.

[EDIT] I even (briefly) turned the firewall off and on again but no luck.

[EDIT2] Is there some way that I can delete the whole thing and start again?

Posted on October 15, 2013 09:12 by haversine

Hi,

The UDP port is 2424 and not 2442. In general it is to do with connectivity so you're right in trying to disable your firewall or anti-virus to see if it works.

But it can also be to do with non standard network setups, or with routers not supporting multicast, amongst other things.

So the best way is to try a manual config and see if it works:

1) Note down the IP address of the iPad from its WiFi settings
2) Create a text file with notepad called "airtrack.ini" in the main FSX folder and write the IP address there
3) Launch FSX and switch to 2D cockpit view
4) You should now see "FSX on X.X.XX" under data sources in AirTrack. Don't forget to tap on it to connect.

hope this helps,
if not let me know and we'll look further,
joao @ airtrack

Posted on October 15, 2013 12:59 by aslsw